top of page
White Flower
  • Writer's pictureNaomi Phillips

Life of a Graduate, as Told by Disney Songs

Updated: May 5, 2020

Finishing uni is hard, who knew? Having recently binge-watched a lot of Disney movies (more than I care to admit), I realised the struggles of an animated princess aren't that far from my own. Below are the 5 stages of finishing your degree, as told by everyone's favourite medium, Disney songs.



1. When will my life begin

gif


"And so I'll read a book, Or maybe two or three. I'll add a few new paintings to my gallery. I'll play guitar and knit and cook and basically, Just wonder when will my life begin?"


After finishing my dissertation I did what any wild student would do, I slept for 14 hours. Having nothing to do, no essay to write, no frantic note making on my phone and no references to do was amazing... For about 2 days. Then I pulled a full Rapunzel, I got around to changing my duvet cover, caught up on the latest Netflix shows and even gave reading a go. Needless to say, it wasn't long until I started to wonder when my life would begin.



2. Almost there

gif


"This whole town can slow you down, people takin' the easy way. But I know exactly where I am going gettin closer 'n closer every day. And I am almost there"


After pottering around for a week or so I began the scariest thing, the graduate job search. I was channeling Tiana vibes and every CV I sent out I thought meant I was one step closer to becoming a CEO. I knew exactly where I thought I was going, straight to the top, minus the whole turning into a frog thing.




3. Reflection

gif

"How I pray, that a time will come, I can free myself, from their expectations. On that day, I'll discover someway to be myself, and to make my family proud.


As you probably guessed, upon reflection (pardon the pun) getting a graduate job in your field is hard. As the rejections began rolling in and my previously very proud family began asking about my job search, I started to channel sad Mulan vibes.



4. Let it go

gif

"Let it go, let it go. Turn away and slam the door"

It's difficult when you sense people are disappointed in you, my family, like most I think see a degree as guaranteeing a job. As I found out it doesn't. Accepting this and letting go of some of this worry is the next step of the grad life.




5. A Dream is a wish your heart makes

gif

"If you keep on believing, the dream that you wish will come true."


The next step (hopefully) if you keep positive like Cinderella, the interviews and job offers will start rolling in. Or you forget the job search all together, move to Disney World where dreams really do come true and ride space mountain 16 times.






Thanks for reading


If you can relate to any of these struggles, let me know on Instagram or drop me an Email.

gif

50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
The ad-diaries
bottom of page