top of page
White Flower
  • Writer's pictureNaomi Phillips

She Got it From Her Momma

Updated: May 5, 2020



International women’s day has just past, mother's day is now coming up, and so I thought it only right to dedicate a blog to a woman I hugely admire, my dear mum. Now, if you know the icon that is my mother, aka the one and only Sarah Phillips, you will know she’s no ordinary mum, ‘she’s a cool mom’. A combination of Joanna Lumley and Pam from Gavin and Stacey is the only way to describe her personality.


In honour of my mum, please enjoy this count down of the 5 things she’s taught me most in life. Be prepared, this list may not be what you expect. But like I said, she’s no ordinary mum.




1. Always be passionate


Kicking it off at number 1, always be passionate. My mum is passionate about a lot of things; serial killers, DisneyWorld, Marilyn Monroe and Vlogging to name a few. Most recently though, my mum has developed a passion for Love Island. I didn’t quite realise how deeply she felt about this topic, until a friend of mine sent me some interesting screenshots of my mums insta activity. Think she needs to calm down. See below:



No one ever did respond, I hope the girl from Cheltenham is out living her best life.


2. Always ask for consent


Another important lesson parents should teach their children, always ask for consent. This was something I presumed I had learned in childhood, but my mum ensured was followed through right to university.


A few years ago, imagine my excitement when on a typical Wednesday night out, following a large amount of vodka and dressed as a cowboy I got to kiss the boy I had had a little crush on for quite some time. Being pretty buzzed about this the next day, I did what any self-sufficient adult would do and rang my mum to share the news. Having told her I kissed the boy of my dreams, her iconic response was “well yeh, but did he kiss back?” SAVAGE. Real confidence booster there.


I can confirm he did in fact kiss back (there’s photo evidence) and we’re still together now.



Brad and Angelina eat your heart out.


3. Always dress your best


Going to the corner shop? Grab your fur coat. Going to parents evening? Best dig out the knee high boots. Putting out the bin? Don't forget your red lipstick. Whatever the occasion, my mum taught me to always make an effort. In theory this is a fabulous way to live your life, in practice though, it's hard. I've lost track of the number of times as a kid, i'd be sat in an icy bath, waiting for my mum to walk down to top up the gas and electric. This wasn't a quick five minutes chuck on a jumper type of situation though, i'm talking hair done, full makeup, new outfit, strutting down the road, 2 hours later kind of process.


I definitely copy my mum when it comes to this now i'm older, i'm guilty of taking way too long to get ready and I do struggle to go out without my red lipstick. As Coco Chanel says, "if you're sad, add more lipstick and attack". It really does work.


Side note - This is a photo of my mum at Brighton Pride, how much does she look like Patsy? Mad.


4. Always be charitable


I'm going to kick this one off by saying, I know this story sounds bad, maybe a little insensitive, but you won't be able to deny it's pretty funny. One average night at our family home in Reading, following a bottle of wine or two... An intoxicated Sarah saw an advert for wateraid. You know the adverts I mean, very sad, begging for donations and discussing the need for freshwater. I looked over to see my mum basically sobbing, "Oh my God" she exclaimed "how sad is it that people don't have water" I mean she's not wrong. Minutes later, she left the room and I heard a sort of rustling in the kitchen. My mum then walked back in with a pint glass of tap water. "What is that for?" I asked... She then stormed out of the front door in her little pyjamas, clutching the glass (for context it was like midnight) so I shouted down the street "where are you going mum?" She then turned around so sassily and shouted back "AFRICA, DUH". As if I was the weird one.


I have to give it to her, it was a nice sentiment. Not quite sure how she planned to keep hold of a glass of water on the plane though.


"AFRICA, DUH" -

Sarah Phillips 2015


Selena Gomez doing her part


5. Always be kind


All joking aside, my mum is the kindest person I know. To be understanding and loving to everyone, is a lesson she has taught throughout my childhood. She feels more deeply than most people and has kept her held high through every situation she's faced with.


The recent death of Caroline Flack highlighted this, my mum rang me in tears for a woman she never met and was the only person I know that went to the extent of lighting a candle in her honour. She cried for Michael Jackson too and I have no doubt she will for every celebrity in the future.


As much as I joke, I love my mum and thank her so much for raising me with these odd yet valuable life lessons.


A typical photo you find on any Facebook mums profile. Artistic.




Have you got any funny stories about your own mum? Any lessons you think you've been taught? Let me know on social media, I would really appreciate knowing i'm not alone.


Thanks for reading.




79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
The ad-diaries
bottom of page